Transport for London - Transport for London Organisation - B

Transport for London - B

Transport for London Organisation

TfL is controlled by a board whose members are appointed by the Mayor of London, a position held by Sadiq Khan since May 2016. The Commissioner of Transport for London reports to the Board and leads a management team with individual functional responsibilities.

The body is organised in two main directorates and corporate services, each with responsibility for different aspects and modes of transport. The two main directorates are:

London Underground, responsible for running London's underground rail network, commonly known as the tube, and managing the provision of maintenance services by the private sector.

This network is sub-divided into different service delivery units:

Transport for London London Underground:

  • Deep Tube: Bakerloo, Central, Victoria, Waterloo & City, Jubilee, Northern and Piccadilly lines.
  • SSL (Sub Surface Lines): Metropolitan, District, Circle and Hammersmith & City lines.
  • Elizabeth line, a high-frequency hybrid urban–suburban rail service on dedicated infrastructure in central London (built as part of the Crossrail Project), and on National Rail lines to the east and west of the city. Operation is undertaken by MTR Elizabeth line, a private-sector concessionaire, and maintenance by Network Rail.

Transport for London Surface Transport, consisting of:

  • Docklands Light Railway (DLR): an automatically driven light metro network in East and South London, although actual operation and maintenance is undertaken by a private-sector concessionaire (a joint venture of Keolis and Amey).
  • London Buses, responsible for managing the red bus network throughout London and branded services including East London Transit, largely by contracting services to various private sector bus operators. Incorporating CentreComm, London Buses Command & Control Centre, a 24-hour Emergency Control Centre based in Southwark.
  • London Dial-a-Ride, which provides community transport services throughout London.
  • London Overground, which consists of certain suburban National Rail services within London. Operation is undertaken by Arriva Rail London, a private-sector concessionaire, and maintenance by Network Rail.
  • London River Services, responsible for licensing and co-ordinating passenger services on the River Thames within London.
  • London Streets, responsible for the management of London's strategic road network.
  • London Trams, responsible for managing London's tram network, by contracting to private sector operators. At present the only tram system is Tramlink in South London, contracted to FirstGroup, but others are proposed.
  • London congestion charge, a fee charged on most cars and motor vehicles being driven within the Congestion Charge Zone in Central London.
  • Public Carriage Office, responsible for licensing the famous black cab taxis and private hire vehicles.
  • Victoria Coach Station, which owns and operates London's principal terminal for long-distance bus and coach services.
  • "Delivery Planning" which promotes cycling in London, including the construction of Cycle Superhighways.
  • "Special Projects Team" manages the contract with Serco for the Santander Cycles bike rental scheme.
  • Walking, which promotes better pedestrian access and better access for walking in London.
  • London Road Safety Unit, which promotes safer roads through advertising and road safety measure.
  • Community Safety, Enforcement and Policing, responsible for tackling fare evasion on buses, delivering policing services that tackle crime and disorder on public transport in co-operation with the Metropolitan Police Service's Transport Operational Command Unit (TOCU) and the British Transport Police.
  • Traffic Enforcement, responsible for enforcing traffic and parking regulations on the red routes.
  • Freight Unit, which has developed the "London Freight Plan" and is involved with setting up and supporting a number of Freight Quality Partnerships covering key areas of London.

Transport for London Overview

Transport for London Abbreviation: TfL
Transport for London Formation: 3 July 2000, 23 years ago
(Greater London Authority Act 1999)

Transport for London Type: Statutory corporation
Transport for London Legal Status: Executive agency within GLA
Transport for London Purpose: Transport authority
Transport for London Headquarters:
5 Endeavour Square
E20 1JN

Transport for London Region Served: London, England
Transport for London Chairman: Mayor of London
(Sadiq Khan)
Transport for London Commissioner: Andy Lord
Transport for London Main Organisations:
London Underground
Elizabeth line
London Buses
London Rail
London Streets

London Overground
Transport for London Parent Organisation: Greater London Authority (GLA)
Transport for London Budget: 2019–20: £10.3 billion (47% of this from fares)
Transport for London Staff: 28,000


Rail Holidays
Rail Vacations
Luxury Trains
Luxury Tours
International Trains
International Tours
home Rail-Pass & Train Tickets & International Rail Holidays Hotel Booking & Hotel Reservations & Hotel Accomodation B&B Booking & B&B Reservations & B&B Accommodation Hostel Booking & Youth Hostel Reservations & Hostel Accommodation Chalet Rental & Holiday Homes & Vacation Homes Ski Pass Booking & Ski Pass Reservations & Ski Lift Pass Flight Tickets & Airline Reservations & Flight Booking Ferry Tickets & Ferry Booking & Ferry Reservations Car Rental Booking & Car Hire Reservations Excursions & Days Out & Day Trips & Theme Parks Rail Pass Booking & Rail Pass Reservations & Eurail & Interrail Rail Tickets & Rail Reservations & International Train Tickets Weekend Trips & Weekend Breaks & Weekend Away  Travel Insurance & Business Travel Insurance Eurotunnel Tickets & Eurotunnel Le Shuttle Reservations